au-sixpence-1941
Museums Victoria holds one of these and photographs each one, which is a documented proof that a coin bearing this date exists. It says nothing about how many were struck, and is not counted as a mintage anywhere here.
What they hold: circulating.
Coin - Sixpence, Australia, 1941 circulating
no-coin-dated-figure 2,912,000 pieces
No document names how many coins were struck bearing the date 1941. These are report-year figures, counted as issued, and a coin dated 1941 was drawn from deliveries like these. Treating one of them as the mintage of a 1941 coin is what most published figures do, and it is the conflation this catalogue exists to document: the reports themselves record dates carrying over from one report year into the next.
| Figure | Mint | What was counted | Source, and its own words |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2,552,000 | not stated | issued what the Commonwealth Treasury issued across the whole of Australia during 1941 |
Reports of the Deputy Master of the Royal Mint, Australian branch memoranda and appendices
:--~ Commonwealth Branch 111th {A f, A Florins 698,400 753,400 Shillings 69,000 69,000 Sixpences ... ... ... 63,800 72,800 Threepences ... ... ... 94,800 94,800 Pence 43,620 9,420 Half—Pence ... ... ... "10,440 10,440 980,060 1,009,860 Rou £63,800 x 40 coins per pound |
| 2,912,000 | not stated | issued what the Commonwealth Treasury issued across the whole of Australia during 1941 |
Reports of the Deputy Master of the Royal Mint, Australian branch memoranda and appendices
ommonwealth Branch 111th {A f, A Florins 698,400 753,400 Shillings 69,000 69,000 Sixpences ... ... ... 63,800 72,800 Threepences ... ... ... 94,800 94,800 Pence 43,620 9,420 Half—Pence ... ... ... "10,440 10,440 980,060 1,009,860 Rough gold £72,800 x 40 coins per pound |
It does not tell you what the coin is worth. A catalogue can honestly report how many were struck, what metal is in one, and what the documents say. It cannot report a market price without either inventing it or copying someone who might have. So this catalogue reports the first three and stays quiet about the fourth.